Award Lectures

IARR Henry S Kaplan Distinguished Scientist Award 2019

Professor Dudley Goodhead

We are delighted to announce that Professor Dudley Goodhead will be presented the 2019 International Association for Radiation Research Henry S. Kaplan Distinguished Scientist Award in Manchester. The purpose of the award is to honour outstanding contributions to the field of radiation research. Any scientist who has made superior contributions to the field through investigations in physics, chemistry, biology or medicine is eligible. Professor Goodhead has pioneered work across these fields in radiation biophysics and radiobiology.

Read Professor Dudley Goodhead's Bio

Professor Goodhead obtained his Ph.D. in Particle Physics at the University of Oxford. His research focused on elucidating the radiation track structure at the atomic, molecular, and cellular levels and their consequent radiobiological and health effects. He demonstrated an exceptional ability to integrate biophysical studies with cellular consequences, providing insight into how radiation damages our DNA and its impact on repair. Exploiting these extraordinary interdisciplinary skills, he has been a pioneer in the field of radiation biophysics and radiobiology.

Professor Goodhead was a highly respected Director of the Medical Research Council’s Radiation and Genome Stability Unit, Harwell, U.K. He has additionally served on many national and international committees evaluating radiation risks, including UK’s Committee on Medical Aspects of Radiation in the Environment, National Research Council, the National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements and multiple working groups of the International Agency for Research on Cancer. He was a consultant for UNSCEAR and IAEA. He was chair of the United Kingdom’s Committee Examining Radiation Risks of Internal Emitters and of the Advisory Group on Ionizing Radiation of Public Health. In the 2002 Queen’s Birthday Honours List, he was awarded the Order of the British Empire for services to medical research.

Additional awards include the Weiss Medal from the ARR, the Failla Medal from the Radiation Research Society, the Douglas Lea Lecturer from the Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine and Biology, the Bacq & Alexander Award from the European Society of Radiation Biology, an Honorary Fellowship from the Society of Radiological Protection, the Warren K. Sinclair Award from the NCRP, and the Gray Medal from the International Commission on Radiation Units and Measurements. Professor Goodhead and his work continues to be extremely well respected and an inspiration to many.

Conference Countdown

Register your Interest